September 20, 2016

UBCP/ACTRA announces nominees for 2016 awards

'Room' star Jacob Tremblay, Camille Sullivan among nominees for 2016 UBCP/ACTRA Awards

Sabrina Furminger — Westender
"Room" star Jacob Tremblay is among the nominees for 2016 UBCP/ACTRA Awards.
"Room" star Jacob Tremblay is among the nominees for 2016 UBCP/ACTRA Awards. — Contributed photo

UBCP/ACTRA members will honour their own at the 2016 UBCP/ACTRA Awards, the nominees for which were announced this morning.

With a self-stated mission to “build the BC star system,” the organization annually honours five members for work done in the past year.  This awards show is the only peer-adjudicated performer awards show in BC, lending what UBCP/ACTRA calls in its press release “a strong sense of professional pride to the nominees and winners.”

Among the nominees this year – in categories covering acting, voice, and stunts – are Jacob Tremblay (Room), Juan Riedinger (The Romeo Section), Camille Sullivan (The Birdwatcher), Leif Havdale (Arrow), and Andrea Libman (My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic).

The awards will be handed out at the Vancouver Playhouse on Nov. 12.

(Drumroll, please): The nominees for the 2016 UBCP/ACTRA Awards are:

Steven Cree Molison: Blackstone (Retribution)
Eli Goree: Race
Brandon Jay McLaren: Slasher (In the Pride of His Face)
Ty Olsson: UnREAL (Savior)
Aleks Paunovic: Numb
Juan Riedinger: The Romeo Section (Mandate of Heaven)

Priscilla Faia: You Me Her (Cigarettes and Funions and Crap)
Crystal Lowe: Signed Sealed Delivered (From Paris with Love)
Carmen Moore: Blackstone (Flat Line)
Christina Sicoli: Paranormal Solutions Inc. (Happy Endings and New Beginnings)
Camille Sullivan: The Birdwatcher

Emily Haine: Fargo (The Gift of the Magi)
Dejan Loyola: Saving Hope (Goodbye Girl)
Julie Lynn Mortensen: Drawing Home
Jacob Tremblay: Room
Jonathan Whitesell: The 100 (Terms and Conditions)
Mayumi Yoshida: The Man in the High Castle (The Illustrated Woman)

Peter Kelamis: My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic (The Hooffields and McColts: Big Daddy McColt)
Andrea Libman: My Little Pony Friendship is Magic (The One Where Pinkie Pie Knows Pinkie Pie & Fluttershy)
Peter New: Littlest Pet Shop (Petnapped!; Sunil)
Lee Tockar: Slugterra (Get Pronto!; Pronto)
Vincent Tong: Nerds and Monsters (Tickle Stick/Monstarrrghs!; Irwin)

Leif Havdale: Arrow (Code of Silence)
Leif Havdale: The Flash (Legends of Today)
Adrian Hein: Arrow (Schism)
Stunt Ensemble (Rhys Williams, Leif Havdale): The Candidate
Stunt Ensemble (Mike Mitchell, Lauro Chartrand, Dean Choe, Scott Nicholson, Crystal Dalman): X Files (Babylon)

In addition to the five performance awards, two UBCP/ACTRA industry awards will be presented: the Lorena Gale Woman of Distinction Award and the John Juliani Award of Excellence.

The Union of British Columbia Performers (UBCP/ACTRA) is an autonomous branch of ACTRA (Alliance of Canadian Cinema, Television and Radio Artists), the national organization of professional performers working in the English-language recorded media in Canada. ACTRA represents the interests of 22,000 members across Canada - the foundation of Canada's highly acclaimed professional performing community.

© 2016 Vancouver Westender


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Westender welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus

Email to a Friend

Sign Up for Our Newsletter!

Community Event Calendar

Find out what's happening in your community and submit your own local events.